RSS Feed

Ask For Help

Ask for Help. This morning I was starting to get stressed out, thinking about all the things I had to get done today. It’s a busy Saturday for us. We have the kids in lessons, shopping to do, a house to clean, a birthday party to attend and company for dinner. While I was making my to do list I suddenly had an epiphany –  “ask for help”. My husband is taking my son to his sports class this morning but what is he doing after that? So I asked him “would you be able to grab some groceries and run to the dollar store for me?” “Of course” he replied, “just send me a list”. I’m not sure why I always feel that I must do everything myself – oh right because I’m may possibly be a wee bit of  a control freak. My husband is amazing. Suddenly my day went from being a little overwhelming to totally under control all because I let go and asked for help.

A Bit of Gratitude.  Today I am thankful for my husband. He’s just such a great partner. And when I say partner, I mean it. I really feel like our marriage is a partnership.  He’s not often one to sit around while I run around like a chicken with my head cut off. He’s right in the trenches with me.  This afternoon I was cleaning and he asked if there was anything he could to help. I said “yes, if you could mop that would really help me out”.  He then pointed out that the mop was broken. “Ok, can you first, go to Wal-Mart and buy us a new mop and then can you mop the floor”.  He’s awesome!  Tomorrow is our seventh anniversary and I’m very thankful to have him in my life.

Noisy Toys.  Do you ever wake up from sleep so suddenly that you can’t remember what day it is or where you are. It takes you a minute to remember?  That was me at 5am this morning.  Once I finally realized it was Saturday and I was in my bedroom I also realized why I woke up – one of my son’s toys was going off. Over and over and over again. At first I thought it was his alarm clock. He sometimes plays with it and if we forget to check it before bed, it will likely go off in the night. I should also mention that he will sleep right through his alarm.  But no, this was not his alarm.  I stumbled into his room to see him playing with his toy truck. I turned it off and explained that we don’t play with noisy toys at 5am. I will now be adding “remove all toys that make any sort of noise” to my bedtime routine.

Until I write again…

Shay

Leave a Reply

People I Want to Punch in the Throat

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

zen habits

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

The Happiness Project

Just another WordPress.com site

Let ME Out!!

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

A Page From My Life

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

