RSS Feed

Wash Your Mouth Out With Soap

Wash Your Mouth Out With Soap.  Ok this is not what you think. I would never intentionally wash my child’s mouth out with soap. It was my child who did it.  Here’s what happened. My son was having a bath and I was washing him. He took his bath toy and filled it with soapy bath water. I told him not to drink but, but he’s 2 so he clearly knows more than me. Down the hatch it goes. The look on his face was seriously priceless. Pure anguish. Then came the crying and tears. Oh Jack. When will you learn?

Future Pencil Sharpener. A year ago if you asked my daughter what she wanted to be when she grew up she would say “I want to be a Mommy and take care of my kids”.  A month ago she answered “I want to be a teacher!”.  Today she said “I was to be the best pencil sharpener in the world because I just love sharpening pencils!” Oh to be five again.

Stop keeping score. One thing I’ve learned in my pursuit if happiness is to stop keeping score. This applies to all areas of life. Marriage, work, friends, family, etc.  If you keep track of how many times you’ve emptied the dishwasher this week, let’s be honest you are always going to come up on the short end of the stick. Because why would else would you be keeping score?  Keeping score is a road map to unhappiness. You are guaranteeing yourself that you are going to be unhappy with the results. Don’t do it. So what then? Well that depends on the situation. One thing I’ve learned as a wife and mother is that if I want someone to do something, all I have to do is ask them to do it.  It sounds so simple but it’s harder for me. I don’t like feeling like a nag. In the back of my mind I might be thinking “I shouldn’t have to ask you to empty the dishwasher, if you see it’s full of clean dishes, empty it!” But that’s the kind of thinking that is never going to lead me to happiness. So toss that thinking out the window and ask for what you want. Nicely! I struggle with that too. When you are rushing around trying to get the house cleaned or the kids organized before you run out the door it’s easy to snap at the people around you. But again, is that going to make anyone happy? Probably not, so use kind words. That’s something I tell my kids all the time – “we use kind words in this family”.  Dr. Phil says “would you rather be right, or would you rather be happy?”  Think about it.  This week I challenge you to try to look at the areas in your life where you might be keeping score and think of a new strategy that will make you happier.

A Bit of Gratitude. Today I am grateful for a little pain relief. My BFF underwent a serious operation last week and has been in tremendous pain ever since. The doctors had been unable to come up with the right combination of pain medication due to a morphine allergy. Add on some post-op complications and it’s been endless painful suffering. Being far away and feeling helpless is not something I’ve handled well.  I had one friend comment how sad I seemed lately and she’s right. I’ve cried…a lot. Knowing that someone you care about is suffering and there is nothing you can do is simply unbearable. But today I finally heard news that she had a better today and has found some relief.  So I am incredibly grateful for that news. She still has a long road ahead of her but I will be grateful for every good day she has.

Leave a Reply

People I Want to Punch in the Throat

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

zen habits

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

The Happiness Project

Just another WordPress.com site

Let ME Out!!

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

A Page From My Life

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

