RSS Feed

An Unmotivated Me

I have a morning routine. I get up, get dressed and ready for the day. I do this every day, pretty much 7 days a week. I used to stay in my pjs until about 15 minutes before I had to leave the house and then I would run around like a crazy person trying to get ready which would stress me out, stress my kids out and cause me to inevitably be late. But now I find that if I get up and dressed for the day, not only am I ready to leave any time, but I also have more energy and am generally more productive throughout the day. Today is not such a day. It’s Sunday which means we usually get up and after breakfast go to church. But this morning my husband is sick. So I thought it would be best to not disturb him and get dressed later. I normally would take the kids to church without him but unfortunately my son is also unwell and I don’t think my husband is up to taking care of him. So here I am still in my pjs at 11am. And I just looked around my house to see breakfast dishes still on the kitchen table and not a lot of productivity going on. Instead of games with the kids or playing outside we’ve been vegging on the couch watching some movie about chipmunks on a ship. Now don’t get me wrong, I have no problem spending a delightful pajama day inside with the kids. They can be a lot of fun. But I actually do need to get up and moving as I am going to visit my Granny later this afternoon. But right now I am not feeling an inkling of motivation. It even crossed my mind to cancel on her. Just goes to show me that I am truly the type of person who does better with a routine. It motivates me…and wouldn’t you know it. Just as I was writing the my husband sauntered down the stairs asking if I needed to get ready to go out. That’s just the kind of guy he is. Awesome. Alright, off I go. Hope you are enjoying your day (especially if you are still in your pjs!)

 

One response »

  1. This is not quite the same thing, but if I don’t start doing things I want to do almost right away on the weekend, I’ll sit around all day. After breakfast, I immediately start baking or writing or whatever I want to do, and then I can continue all day. But if I wait, I might not start anything at all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

People I Want to Punch in the Throat

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

zen habits

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

The Happiness Project

Just another WordPress.com site

Let ME Out!!

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

A Page From My Life

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

