RSS Feed

Where’s My Truck?

Where’s My Truck?  Yesterday we went to the local fire hall for a breakfast with Santa.We met up with former preschool mom friends and their families. I really hope that we all continue to do this every year. We almost didn’t make it – just too many things going on, but I’m so glad we did. It was so fun to see everyone and great to have pictures to compare from last year’s event. During our visit Santa asked my two year old son Jack what he wanted Santa to bring him for Christmas.  Jack replied “a big truck!” When we walked away, Jack said “where’s my truck?’ He was not impressed with my explanation. I guess when you’re two and someone asks you what you want, you pretty much expect them to give it to you right then. Santa’s helpers offered him an orange and candy cane and he reluctantly took them but I’m not too sure what he thinks of Santa anymore.

Elf on the Shelf. So we are on day 3 of our new Elf on the Shelf tradition. Jack definitely believes our Elf is real. In fact he was quite upset the other night when he said goodnight to the Elf and the Elf did not reply.

O Christmas Tree. Last year was the first year I’ve ever had a real Christmas tree.  We found a local family tree farm and where we picked out and cut down our own tree. It was a really fun experience. Today we set out to get a Christmas tree. Weather was great. We as always overdressed (hats, scarves, the whole nine yards) but were pleasantly surprised to find the sun shining and quickly removed the extra articles of clothing. We found a great tree in about 10 minutes. Steve cut it down and carried it to the car and my kids found random tree branches on the ground that they have adopted as their own personal trees. The drive home is always a challenge. Although we only live about 10 minutes away there is always the worry that we have not quite secured said tree to our roof. Such was the case today. The tree slid forward and almost off the right side of the car but we managed to get it home safe and sound with only two stops along the way. The kids were so excited to get the tree in the house and decorated. We gave them their new ornaments (one new ornament each year) and they waited patiently while we attempted to set up our tree.  The tree stand we own has 3 pictures with instructions. It claims to be very simple and take less than 1 minute to set up your tree. It took us 45 minutes by which time Katie had gone upstairs to play in her room and Jack had wrapped himself in a blanket and fallen asleep on the couch. The assembly is actual quite simple and does in fact take about a minute – the trick is actually doing it correctly in the first place. With the tree finally ready to be decorated I soon discovered that we had no lights for the tree. A vague memory of all our lights burning out last year came to mind so off to Wal-Mart I went as my daughter went back to playing and my son continued to sleep. By the time the tree was finally done, Jack was in his pjs and Steve had run out to grab us dinner. It was an adventure if nothing else.

Until I write again…

Shay

Leave a Reply

People I Want to Punch in the Throat

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

zen habits

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

The Happiness Project

Just another WordPress.com site

Let ME Out!!

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

A Page From My Life

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

