RSS Feed

Elf Business

Elf Business.  So my two year old son won’t stop touching the darn Elf on the Shelf. The problem (for those not familiar with EOTS) is that according to the EOTS book (a.k.a instruction manual) if you touch the Elf, he loses his magic and will no longer tell Santa when you are being good. Yesterday my son must have knocked the darn elf over 20 times. He would literally walk up to it knock it over and go “Oh No Mommy”. My five year old was having a fit! For now our Elf has found a new home out of a two year old’s reach.

The Lost Power of Persuasion.  So last post I mentioned how my son asked Santa for a “big truck” for Christmas. Well in fact, I finished my Christmas shopping for the kids a while back and did not buy him a ‘big truck’. I’ve been trying to suggest that he really doesn’t need a big truck but what he really needs is a Green Lantern airplane! But he just looks at me and says “No I want a Big Truck” and moves on.  I used to be able to subtly suggest to my kids what they ‘want’ from Santa and voila – the Halloween costumes that I bought on sale after Christmas become the most desired Christmas gift from Santa. This year I am failing miserably.  I fear that unless I can figure out a way to persuade him, my husband’s beloved Green Lantern airplane maybe be returned for a ‘big truck’.

Hey, What’s That Over There?  Am I the only parent who buys gifts for their kids in front of them and hopes they don’t notice? My daughter asked Santa for a zhu zhu pet. Last year Santa got the kids both one. They are these little toy pets that make noises and move around the house. My kids LOVE them. I got them for a bargain price of $3 at Wal-mart so I should be happy that she wants another one right? Not so much. I was beginning to think they didn’t sell them anymore.  I’ve looked everywhere! I was worried that Santa was going to have to send a letter informing her that the Elves are not making zhu zhu pets this year.  Luckily I came across said pets this afternoon. Unfortunately I had both kids with me at the time and there were only 2 pets left on the shelf. So I did what I do best in such situations, I said “hey kids, what’s that over there” and threw it into my bag hoping neither of them noticed. Then when it came time to pay I sent them to look at the candy vending machines as I quickly paid for my purchases and hoped they wouldn’t clue in to my deception. The cashier just shook her head and the kids weren’t too impressed when I finished paying but then wouldn’t buy them any candy. All and all a success I’d say.

Until I write again…

Shay

One response »

  1. I hope you never stop! This is one of the best blogs Ive ever read. Youve got some mad skill here, man. I just hope that you dont lose your style because youre definitely one of the coolest bloggers out there. Please keep it up because the internet needs someone like you spreading the word.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

People I Want to Punch in the Throat

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

zen habits

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

The Happiness Project

Just another WordPress.com site

Let ME Out!!

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

A Page From My Life

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

