RSS Feed

A Tough One

It is with a heavy heart that I write this blog post. I’ve been thinking about this one for two days and it’s still sitting with me so I thought I would share.

Monday after school my six-year old daughter came home from school and started to cry. Upon taking to her I found out that the mom, of a boy in her class, had died from cancer over the weekend. We ended up having a long discussion as I did my best to explain that it was ok to be sad and to cry. That she shouldn’t worry about me getting cancer or dying even though the mom of her best friend also has cancer. That some people get better after they are sick for what seems like a long time.

We talked about it more yesterday after she sneezed and got worried that it might mean she had cancer. At bedtime she asked God to take her classmate’s sadness away so he didn’t have to cry anymore and to stop her friend’s mom from being in pain so her friend didn’t have to be sad anymore either.

It’s hard to know what the right thing to say is in these situations. I don’t know that there is a right answer. But I’m glad that she was comfortable talking to me about her feelings and hope that we continue to have an open and honest relationship as she grows up.

For now my heart is breaking for her classmate and his family. That’s a tough one to swallow. I’m not sure I even have any words.

Hug your littles ones a little tighter tonight and pray for those who are left behind.

Until I write again…
Shay

Leave a Reply

People I Want to Punch in the Throat

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

zen habits

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

The Happiness Project

Just another WordPress.com site

Let ME Out!!

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

A Page From My Life

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

