RSS Feed

Mealtime Memories

Posted on

At supper every night my family shares stories about their day. As many parents of school children can attest to, when asked “What did you do today?” My 6-year old most often answers “I don’t know”. So we’ve tried a new approach the last few months, where we each each talk about are the “highs” and “lows” of the day. Not only do we often hear get entertaining answers (Katie “my low was that I had to go outside for recess when I wanted to stay inside and do math”, or Jack “being happy makes me happy)” but I find it often reminds my daughter of other things that happened at school and starts up a lengthier conversation.

Tonight my daughter suggested that we add one more item to our dinner-timer conversation:

Katie “Mommy we should all say what we are grateful for each day”

Me “What are you grateful for Katie?”

Katie “I’m grateful for my Mom and Dad. What are you grateful for Mommy?”

Me “I’m grateful for my two amazing kids.  Jack, what are you grateful for?”

Jack “Nothing”.

Well, that’s my boy. Always good for a laugh at dinner.

I’m excited about this new addition to meal-time. I think it’s important to take a moment in our busy days to be thankful for what we have. So today I am thankful for a 6 year-old’s idea.

Until I write again…

x Shay

Leave a Reply

People I Want to Punch in the Throat

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

zen habits

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

The Happiness Project

Just another WordPress.com site

Let ME Out!!

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

A Page From My Life

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

