RSS Feed

Rainbow Loom Lunacy

I’m guessing if you are a parent and have a daughter between the ages of 5-10 your house has been taken over by small colourful elastics and a weird knobby plastic contraption known as the “The Rainbow Loom”.

Personally, I held off for as long as I could.  I was vaguely familiar with the toy around Christmas time but I had already painstakingly tracked down and purchased my daughter her “I MUST have a Flutterbye Fairy (which she LOVED, by the way, but has not played with it since Christmas day), so there was no way I was going to go all over town (or the internet) trying to find another “top toy of 2013”).  Her birthday was a mere 10 days after Christmas but we promised her she could get her ears pierced when she turned 7 (and who knew that would be so expensive!). So no Rainbow Loom in my house. It was only until about a month ago I really became aware of them taking over the world. When Katie started going to Rainbow Loom birthdays and all her friends were coming to school with bracelets they had made.  Then the talk started. “Mommy can I pleeeeeeeeeease have a Rainbow Loom’ Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeease???”

I stood strong for a good month. Insisting she had enough new toys from Christmas and her birthday.  But in the end I agreed to let her spend a certificate left over from her birthday and buy the treasured Rainbow Loom. It’s been a week or so and my house is being slowly taken over by colourful bracelets. And truth be told…she’s only made about 4 of them. I’ve made the rest. How did this happened?????

It was supposed to be a toy for her. Originally she could have cared less about the “loom” itself. She told me a friend had taught her how to make bracelets using two fingers so she grabbed some elastics and off she went. Wait, what? You mean I only needed to spend $4 and buy some elastics?  We didn’t actually need the whole “loom”? So next thing you know I hear myself saying “well you spent your money on this, we have to at least figure out how it works”.  Several YouTube videos, hours and days later and I have made a lot of bracelets. And I’m not that good at it. I’ll place all those elastics on the loom, painstakingly hook them all the way the 8-year-old in the video shows me. Think I’m done and then BAM! It all falls apart.  My daughter actually said to me one day “Mommy, you aren’t very good at this. Maybe you should get Joelle’s Mom to show you. She’s really good”.  And  meanwhile, my daughter is still good at making them on her two fingers.

Until I write again…

x Shay

One response »

  1. I thought you were going to say that you are awesome and then say you are starting your own store of wonderful, colorful bracelets! LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

People I Want to Punch in the Throat

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

zen habits

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

The Happiness Project

Just another WordPress.com site

Let ME Out!!

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

A Page From My Life

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

