Teeth Are Big Business

Teeth Are Big Business. My daughter is obsessed with losing a tooth. The problem is that none of hers are loose. She is constantly trying to wiggle them and look in the mirror to see if any are ready to fall out. I’m not five so I don’t really understand why this is such a big deal but she informs me that it is a VERY big deal. So it got me to thinking, how much does the tooth fairy leave these days? I was personally thinking a quarter would do just fine. Mostly because she’s got a lot of teeth to lose and because she has no idea what the difference is between a quarter or one or two dollars. Upon asking around I got a few different responses but the overall consensus was that I was being a cheapskate and at least a $1, perhaps $2-$5 was more along the average.  While I was in volunteering in her class yesterday I overheard one of the children tell the teacher that she had lost her tooth and that the tooth fairy had left her $20. TWENTY DOLLARS? I nearly spit out my water. I’m not sure how I am going to explain why she’s getting a freaking quarter and her friend’s getting twenty bucks but I guess I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it. I mentioned the $20 to my brother and he laughed and said for $20 he’d start pulling out his own teeth.

That’s a Wrap. Now that our tree is up I figured it was time to start wrapping presents and shoving them under the tree. So this afternoon I thought I’d start. My two-year old son was very curious as to what I was up to. I know what you are thinking – why on earth would I attempt to wrap gifts with a two-year old around. I have no idea. I showed him a few gifts and he watched me wrap them and put them under the tree. He then asked where his gift was. So I searched around and found an empty Cars gift bag and handed it to him. He was over joyed and immediately filled it with cars. All in all a very successful activity – or so I thought.  Fast forward a few hours after we pick up my 5-year-old from school.  My son immediately runs to the tree to show his sister the presents. I’m barely even up the stairs before I hear him say “Katie, that present has a Barbie in it and it’s for you!” Sigh. She was not impressed. “Don’t tell me what’s in the presents Jack!” After some discussion we decided that perhaps she will forget what’s in the present and it will then again be a ‘surprise’ on Christmas morning. Of course the best part of the whole thing was that she literally told me that she wanted her brother to buy her a Popstar Barbie for Christmas so she really wouldn’t have been surprised either way. But I’ve learned my lesson. No more wrapping presents around my son.

Nap No More. My son’s been waking up at the wee hour of 5am for the past month or so. We decided it might be high time to try to take away his nap and see if that causes him to sleep in later. Over all it is working but we are dealing with a pretty miserable and tired little boy in the late afternoon. Today we were out and he fell asleep in the car. When we got home I woke him up. He said to me “Mommy, I’m tired and I want to go to sleep in the house….on the couch…with the tv on…”hmmm, I see where this is going.

A Bit of Gratitude. Today I got to talk on the phone to my BFF. I haven’t been able to talk to her on the phone for a few weeks and it’s sucked. We normally talk nearly every afternoon and I had no idea how much I took that for granted. It was so great to hear from her so for that I am truly grateful!

Until I write again…

Shay

Leave a comment

People I Want to Punch in the Throat

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

zen habits

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

The Happiness Project

Just another WordPress.com site

Let ME Out!!

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures

A Page From My Life

a snapshot into my family's daily adventures